03 Nov 2018

Joanna Gutowska

  • Joanna Gutowska
  • Gaspar Cassadó 
  • Michael Berkeley
  • Manos Charalabopoulos 
  • David Matthews
  • Krzysztof Penderecki
  • J S Bach

J S Bach provides the starting point for a tour of repertoire for solo cello with this outstanding Polish cellist.  Gaspar Cassado, a splendid Spanish virtuoso cellist of the early 20th century, is represented with his playful and lovely suite, Michael Berkeley and David Matthews in elegaic mood, and Manos Charalabopoulos, a recent Royal Philharmonic Society composition prize winner, complete the programme.

Gaspar Cassadó Suite for solo cello

Michael Berkeley Ode – in memoriam

Manos Charalabopoulos Two Poems A Presteigne Festival commission in association with the Royal Philharmonic Society

David Matthews Ein Celloleben op. 109

Krzysztof Penderecki Divertimento for solo cello

J S Bach Suite in C BWV1009


End time c. 9:10pm