17 May 2019

  • Joanna MacGregor: Piano

  • Schubert
  • Liszt
  • Wagner

Joanna MacGregor’s eagerly awaited return to Music at Oxford is an offering of Romantic masterpieces from the Austro-Germanic tradition. Schubert was extremely prolific during a very short lifetime, and his music much championed by Liszt thereafter.  His Four Impromptus – so named by his publisher – each display the lyrical melodies for which he is revered, while his B flat sonata is now a core work of the piano repertoire.

Liszt’s transcription of Isolde’s climactic final aria from Wagner’s opera Tristan und Isolde – as she sings over Tristan’s dead body – became well-known throughout Europe long before the opera itself.

Schubert Four Impromptus D.899

Liszt Nuages Gris / La Lugubre Gondola I

Liszt/Wagner Liebestod from Tristan und Isolde

Schubert Sonata in B flat major D.960

End time c. 9:30pm