03 Feb 2018

OAE: Benedetti & Alsop

  • Marin Alsop Conductor
  • Nicola Benedetti Violin
  • Beethoven Symphony no. 4 in B flat op. 60, Violin Concerto in D op. 61

A musician always confounding expectations, violinist Nicola Benedetti makes her debut with the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment this evening. She’s joined by conductor Marin Alsop for a programme of Beethoven performed with pure unvarnished musicality.

OAE’s brilliant musicians follow up on their last Oxford performance, an exhilarating Beethoven evening with Sir Roger Norrington, with the fourth Symphony showing the composer in a lyrical and perhaps slightly nostalgic mood. Written in the same year as the fourth symphony, Beethoven’s only violin concerto was one of the first pieces written for the instrument on a large scale.  It led the way in establishing the concerto as the embodiment of romantic drama between soloist and orchestra. Enjoy this exploration of the variety of Beethoven’s music with two artists of international distinction.
‘Benedetti was, without doubt, the hot attraction … a new found maturity, composure and effortless musicality.’  The Scotsman

Please note: Due to the popularity of this concert we have reduced the number of Upper Gallery seats available. This is for your comfort. We will reassess on the night and may sell further Upper Gallery seats at the door. 

Nicola Benedetti plays Bruch at the Last Night of the Proms 2012

The Graham Pye Memorial Concert

End time c. 9:15pm